Tasmanian Government Logo
Link to the Tas government site


The Minister for Planning and Local Government, Peter Gutwein MP, pursuant to Section 215 of the Local Government Act 1993,
has appointed a Board of Inquiry (Board), to review allowances payable to Local Government Councillors.

The members of the Board are Tasmanian Industrial Commission President, David Barclay and Deputy President Neroli Ellis.

An Issues Paper  (pdf, 569.6 KB)published 9 January 2018, invites submissions from interested parties. The Issues Paper is intended to raise the key issues and provide background information.

Due Dates

The closing date for written submissions is 5.00 pm Friday 16 February 2018
Public hearings will take place in the week 19-23 February 2018
The report is to be provided by 2 April 2018

Ms Alex Johnston
Ph: (03) 6165 6775
Email: tic@justice.tas.gov.au

Level 2, 144 Macquarie Street,

GPO Box 1108
Hobart Tas 7001

Website: www.tic.tas.gov.au